Love ≠ Tolerance

So, lately I’ve seen a lot of my Christian friends like “We need to be tolerant of the sinful people, and accept them anyway because that’s what LOVE is! And Jesus wants us to love them!” 

Now, I totally agree, we do need to love people. BUT. Love does not mean tolerance. We love the sinner, not the sin. We HATE the sin. That doesn’t mean we judge people by their sin, we simply do everything in our power to draw them away from that sin.

I feel that tolerating sin is the same as saying it’s acceptable and good. For example, I have a friend, who claims to be Christian but at the same time is an outspoken bisexual. (How that is possible I have no idea…) Now, don’t get me wrong, I love her like a sister, but that doesn’t mean I approve of her choice. When she asks me about it, I tell her exactly what I think on the matter. But other friends of hers (who also claim to be Christians) say that her sin should be accepted because “all have sinned”. Of course all have sinned, that’s not an excuse to continue it! What that verse is saying is to NOT JUDGE PEOPLE THEMSELVES for what they do wrong, and love them THROUGH it all. 

Let me put it this way: Tolerating sin is like letting a baby put a knife in it’s mouth. That’s not LOVING the baby, cause if you loved it, you would protect it and take that knife from it!

I guess that’s all I have to say on the subject.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

