You know, I think this year is the first holiday season that my family hasn’t been at each other’s throats…

 

I remember one year, when I was 10 years old and we lived in Herman, it was Thanksgiving night. About 10:30pm, and nobody had eaten yet that day. My mom had sent my dad out to buy a turkey pan because he refused to help with anything else, and 6 hours later we were STILL waiting for him. He finally came in the door with a flimsy aluminum pan that wouldn’t even hold a small duckling. My mom burst into tears. There was fighting and screaming, and throwing of things. I ran upstairs, crawled under my bed and cried. I decided right then that holidays sucked.

Every year it was the same. We would get up early and start cleaning the house, and my mom would start cooking. We were all too young to actually cook anything, so we had to stay out of the kitchen. My dad would get up at noon and go downstairs and plop down in his recliner and not do anything. Mom would ask for help, he’d say “No way.” heated argument ensues. It always escalated into screaming and tears, while us kids would all hide in the laundry room, wondering if this would be the year that mom and dad would get a divorce. All we really ever had was each other…

As we got older, us kids were more and more of the problem. Half of us became teenagers, went through rebellious streaks, became part of the constant fight. 

 

Finally, the Christmas of 2009. I remember running up the stairs to go to my room, and seeing my mom sitting on the stairs. She had a glazed look in her eyes. I sat down on the landing and asked what was wrong. She was staring out the window. “What if I just went away,” she said. “Went away by myself and left this all behind. I can’t do this anymore. I’m tired.” my mom almost left us that year. I was so afraid that it was my fault. I had been going through a rebellious phase (I was 16…) and thought that she would leave us all on account of me.

 

That following summer my parents got divorced.

Now, last year, the holidays were still kinda rough….but this year was okay. Thanksgiving was good anyway…it was simple, there was no fighting…we just stayed at home, ate food, had a few people over. I don’t know how Christmas will be, but at least it won’t be as bad as it was. 

Anyway…this post has no point. Just that holidays used to suck horribly, and now they don’t. 

2 Comments

  1. Awe. Man. There is One who redeems the broken years. He’s good at doing that. And it stinks to hear holidays were that crappy. And it’s great now to hear that holidays don’t suck anymore!!! Man. Glad good things are happening.

Leave a Reply

