We threw coins at the guards.

You painted bleeding hearts and we ran through a summer storm.

You were afraid to die,

So I held you

And prayed to a God you didn’t believe in to keep you safe.

 

And I didn’t know how to save you.

 

You gave me a purple hippopotamus, so I’d never forget.

We wore monster’s heads and collected newspapers.

I drew on your arms and you drew on your legs.

We made rainbow cake

And lay on the kitchen floor,

Where you told me your dark secret.

 

And I didn’t know how to save you.

 

We spent the spring under a bridge,

Reading the words of ghosts long gone.

Walking home in the dark that night,

I felt more alive than ever before.

 

But I still didn’t know how to save you.

 

So I tried to run,

And ended up dying.

I couldn’t save myself,

We were both lost.

I moved away, but the ghosts came with me.

 

So let’s start over.

 

Hi, my name is Kat. Please be my Laura.

Leave a Reply

