Well it’s been a while.

I keep promising to blog more often, but then I don’t. I’m super lame. The good news though is that I got all my Xanga archives back and imported them onto here, so at least now I feel like I have my old stuff back again. 🙂 It’s a good feeling.

 

So anyway, work has been crazy and stupid lately. The “efficiency experts” came and ransacked my workspace, and rearranged everything. It’ll probably be better once I get used to it, but it’s still stupid. I barely got anything done this week because of them. 😛 On top of that, my boss has upped my production expectations to the point where I KNOW I’m not going to make it. I’m basically required to make around $1,000 a day in shoe sales. To put that in perspective, I work at a Goodwill. Most of my shoes are around $5 or $6 a pair. I don’t know how they expect me to realistically make that much money, it’s ridiculous. But you know what? I don’t really care anymore. I’m leaving in a little over 2 months, so screw them. I’ll do my best, but I’m not gonna drive myself crazy over this stuff anymore. I’m just killing myself with stress and anger when I do that.

 

On that note, I’ve been pretty dang happy lately. Ever since I cut some incredibly toxic people out of my life (*cough*Lewis family*cough*), it seems like I’ve just been happier and happier. We found a good friends group here. I’m trying not to get too emotionally attached or anything, because we’re still moving (obviously), but it’s nice to at least have someone to hang out with a couple times a week. There’s one other couple, Noah and Diana, a guy named Austin and his younger brother, Cameron (he’s the youngest one in the group, he’s only 15), Wes, Nic (if Sharon is reading this, that’s Nic Valesey!) and sometimes Haanzs comes. We have a movie night on Tuesdays, half of us go to the same church on Sundays, and then we go to the same small group on Wednesdays as Noah and Diana do. All in all, I feel a lot happier with this friends group than I ever did with the other one (a.k.a. the Harris clan and their followers). I think it’s because this group doesn’t have any expectations of me or anything. The Harris friends always seemed to turn everything into a competition or an opportunity to show off or something. I want friends that I can hang out with, not people that I have to feel obligated to entertain or measure up to. So it’s been good.

 

The only thing I’m missing with this friends group is a serious connection. I mean, I like them as friends, and I’ll miss them when I leave, but I’m excited to get back to Omaha and be around friends that I can hang out with and ALSO talk about deep issues with. I want people who I can be attached to. But this is satisfactory for now.

 

I’ve also realized that, since I’ve actually had my time with friends lately, and I’m an extrovert, I actually feel a lot healthier, less depressed, and more motivated to do stuff. Like, I’ve actually felt like drawing stuff lately, and not in an I’m-obligated-to-draw-something-or-I’ll-disappoint-everyone-and-waste-my-talent way either. I’ve actually been inspired! I know that doesn’t sound like much, but if you knew how long this dry spell has been….well, it means a lot to me. It’s exciting. 🙂

 

I’m still trying to remember the other thing I wanted to talk about…

 

OH! Music! I’ve been wanting to listen to music a lot more lately! That’s great for me. I mean, for a good year or so there, I was so stressed all the time that I just completely ignored all of my creative outlets. Now I’m actually getting back into them and it feels really good. I want to get another guitar, my buttfaced brother, Nathan, bought mine because I really needed the money, he payed a ridiculously low price because he knew I couldn’t say no, and then wouldn’t seel it back to me. I love him, but man….what a buttface! D:

 

Oh, also….I’m turning 21 in a little over 2 weeks. 🙂 I’m not planning on really drinking or anything (it’s not that I’m against drinking in general, it’s just that I don’t really care for the taste of alcohol), but it falls on a Tuesday, which means that movie night will also be my birthday party! Our friend Austin, who I mentioned earlier, also brews alcohol as a hobby and I told him about my tastes, he said he’s trying to come up with something to make me for my birthday that I’ll actually like. So that’s pretty cool. 😀 The Saturday after my birthday, Bobby and I are going up in the mountains to Lake Dillon, and we’re gonna spend the day kayaking, canoeing, and swimming. We’re gonna pack some stuff to grill and have a grill out for lunch there. I’m pretty excited about it.

 

Anyway, to sum that up, work is tolerable, friends are awesome, I’m inspired again, and my birthday is coming. Sorry about the rambling, I just haven’t written in a while. I’m sure once I start writing more often, these posts will be less rambly and weird, and hopefully more interesting.

 

Anyway, BYE!

 

Leave a Reply

