How much do you love me?

Today, I looked at you and remembered how much you loved her.

Do you love me as much?

When you stare off into the distance as I’m trying to tell you about my day, are you thinking of that past, long gone? Are you thinking of the nights you stayed up texting her until you couldn’t keep your eyes open? Your shared secrets, your moments of weakness, your bond. Pouring your heart out to her. Ending every message with an, “I love you.” Long, long paragraphs, written in desperate passion.

Passion. I wonder if that’s a feeling that will ever really be associated with me.

I wish you would just talk to me. Please. Just look at me. Pay me your full attention.

See me.

I’m just the rebound. The rebound that you happened to marry.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

